Quick Side: Tiny Potatoes and Roasted Corn

Last week I wrote about what I default to when plans don’t come together. This week I’m already up against the odds. Thanks to a busy weekend, I didn’t get my meal planning together and I did not get to the grocery store either. So I’m finding myself planning day-by-day, which means I also have to fit a for-that-meal-only grocery run in sometime during a busy day. Not a good approach, I assure you. Tonight I tried to come up with something fun and easy to shop for – things I could grab in a quick sweep of the store on my way to the train from the office. That part was a success, but that’s where it kind of ends. Let’s just say things didn’t turn out. Silver linings, though, people! So tonight I have for you a delicious and super quick side dish that you can also throw into a warm corn tortilla and pretend your protein didn’t disappoint royally on Taco Tuesday! In case that happens to you, is what I mean. I wouldn’t know from experience… ANYWAY. Here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
* olive oil
* 1lb tiny potatoes, quartered
* 1-1.5C roasted corn kernels (you can buy these roasted in the frozen section – a nice ace up the sleeve during the winter when corn’s out of season; alternately, you can buy other frozen corn kernels and do a quick roast on them, or a fresh cob and cut the kernels off to roast, etc.)tinypotoatoes_corn
* sea salt
* 1T chopped fresh cilantro, for garnish

WHAT TO DO

Warm a teaspoon or so of olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.

Add the potatoes and corn kernels and mix to combine. Add a pinch of sea salt and mix again.

Lower heat to medium-low and cover the skillet about 3/4 of the way. Cook about 8-10 minutes until the potatoes are fork-tender but not soft.

Transfer from the pan to a serving dish and top with chopped cilantro. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

