5 Ingredients: Garlic and Agave Roasted B. Sprouts

Yep. More Brussels sprouts. Get over it. Honestly, I don’t know how they got such a bad rep. I could eat Brussels for my only vegetable for the rest of my life and never get bored. My kiddo, on the other hand, only once ever ate a Brussels sprout and reacted positively. So I’m determined to win her over and therefore be able to serve them more often. This recipe – a spontaneous stroke of brilliance, if I do say so myself – might have gotten us dramatically closer to that goal with just one meal.

“Tryย a Brussels sprout,” I encouraged. “NO,” she responded. “They have agave on them,” I tried. “OKAY!” she responded – and then barely nibbled on a leaf, paused, and inhaled the whole thing. “MMM.” But then she only ate the one. Small victories, people. Baby steps.

These have aย perfect balance of sweet and savory, and not too much of either. Roasted beautifully. Five (okay, six, but five-ish – plus, lots of recipe-folks don’t even count s+p, so really, it’s four) ingredients. And quick and easy as anything.ย I mean, who wouldn’t fall in love. Here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
* 1lb fresh Brussels sprouts, washed, trimmed of stems, and halved
* olive oil
* 1 1/2T garlic powder
* 1 1/2T agave syrup
* salt/pepper (I’m counting these as one ingredient. Don’t judge me!)

WHAT TO DO
Preheat your oven to 400F.

Add your clean and cut b. sprouts to a roasting pan. Drizzle generously with olive oil (but not so generously that it pools in the pan). Add the garlic powder and then the agave. Add salt and pepper to taste. Shake the pan a bit to ensure everyone gets a little of everything.

Pop it in the oven.

Roast 15-20 minutes, shaking the pan and tossing the sprouts once about half-way through.

Ba-da-boom. (Actually, I hadn’t yet even photographed these, and before I realized it, they were almost gone. Just to explain the sparse image…)

garagavebsp

Leave a Reply

