Quick Side: Garlicky Sauteed Cabbage

Cabbage is a polarizing vegetable, I think. People either completely cringe when you suggest it, or they’re thrilled you brought it up. There’s not much in between with cabbage. Do you agree? Or am I a total weirdo for overthinking cabbage? Anyway, I love it. But I don’t use it nearly enough. When I was meal planning this week’s dinners last weekend, I realized I needed a side for tonight’s dinner (another story for another post), and that I had almost a whole head of cabbage in the fridge. I thought for a few seconds and figured I’d come up with something on the fly. And guess what? I did! And it came out great! Use what you have, people – if you have it, you probably like it, right? So put it all together in a pan, stir a bit, and call it a dish! AmIright? Sort of? Maybe? A little? Not at all? Whatever, here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
* olive oil
* lots of minced garlic (3-4 heaping teaspoons should do it)
* 1 small head green cabbage, chopped
* white balsamic vinegar
* salt
* pepper
* garlic powder
* juice of half a lemon

WHAT TO DO
Heat a few healthy glugs of olive oil in a large pan over medium heat. Add the minced garlic and, stirring frequently, let it cook a few minutes until it begins to brown and get all aromatic and wonderful.

Add the cabbage to the pan. Drizzle with a bit more olive oil on top, then stir carefully, mixing everything together. Cook for 2-3 minutes to allow the cabbage leaves to begin to soften and brighten in color, then add a healthy splash of the white balsamic. Stir to incorporate, then reduce heat to medium-low. Cook 8-10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add salt and pepper to taste, and then a teaspoon or two of garlic powder to the pan. Stir again to combine, then cook another 3-5 minutes. Squeeze lemon juice over the whole thing, mix again, and you’re done! Boom! Unless you’re on the cringe side of the cabbage debate, I’m pretty sure I just made your day. Enjoy!

garcab

No, but seriously, do you like cabbage? How do you like it prepared?

Leave a Reply

