N’s Pecan Pesto and Caprese Roll-Ups

I’ve posted previously about my relatively recent revelation about being able to make pesto out of *more* than just basil. In fact, I previously posted a spinach pesto (this is also a spinach pesto) recipe. But this is a special recipe, because my tiny sous chef made it, beginning to end. She selected ingredients, and amounts of ingredients, and so it’s named for her, and I will maybe only make this pesto for the rest of my life because it is so perfectly perfect and delicious.IMG_0757

I was planning a Meatless Monday meal of Caprese roll-ups, and while I’ll give you the whole recipe here, that’s really just putting already-ready ingredients together in a particular order. When I thought about a base for the roll-ups, the pesto really became the star. Once N put her hands on it, though, it became magic. So here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
for the pesto* 2C packed baby spinach leaves
* 1/4C packed fresh basil leaves
* 1/4C packed fresh parsley
* 1/2C pecans
* 1/2C grated Parmesan
* 4 whole garlic cloves
* 1T fresh lemon juice (about 1/2 a large lemon)
* 1/2t lemon zest
* 1/2t salt
* 1/2t black pepper
* 1/4C extra virgin olive oil

for the roll-ups
* large flour tortillas or wraps (I used a whole wheat, spinach tortilla)
* plum tomatoes
* fresh mozzarella slices
* fresh basil leaves
* balsamic vinegar for drizzling
* NOTE: I did not do this, but next time, I’d also add sliced avocado (RIGHT?!)

WHAT TO DO
Make the pesto.IMG_0753

Put all the ingredients except the olive oil into a food processor and blend thoroughly until combined. While the food processor is on, slowly pour in the olive oil until combined. Taste for seasoning and adjust according to taste. DONE. You will thank my tiny sous chef for the thought to swap out traditional walnuts or pine nuts for pecans. They add a subtle sweetness and depth, especially juxtaposed against the punch of the garlic. Seriously. She might be a genius. And I’m not just saying that because I’m her mother.

Assemble your roll-ups. Spoon a generous amount of the pesto down the middle of a tortilla/wrap. Place a row of thick-cut slices of tomato on the pesto. Place slices of fresh mozzarella on the tomatoes. Top with basil leaves (or avocado, then basil). Drizzle just barely with a little balsamic (I probably used 1/4-1/2 a teaspoon per roll-up). Roll up the sides and enjoy. And thank my tiny sous chef, because Caprese or not, this would be pretty basic if not for that pesto, amiright?!

IMG_0756

3 thoughts on “N’s Pecan Pesto and Caprese Roll-Ups

Leave a Reply

