Spinach Croquettes

A year ago today I started this blog as a way to connect again with myself, and with something uniquely my own in my too-busy life – something that isn’t my job or responsibility but that nourishes me (ha! see what I did there?! didn’t even mean to do it!).

Life happens, and life happened over the last five months and I just couldn’t find my way back to the balance and routine of posting. But I’ve wanted to every single day. I think sometimes we just have to rip the bandaid off, though, don’t we? You have to start something in the first place in order for it to actually have the possibility to become a part of your routine.

spinach_croquettes

So with that in mind, here I am. Last week life happened again. My last living grandparent, my maternal grandmother, passed away in Israel. Since I couldn’t be with my family, I was feeling very lonely in my grief. Until, again, food memory came to the rescue. I decided to go home that evening and prepare a dish from my grandmother’s amazing catalog of recipes. And my little sous chef helped, so together we shared the tradition of passing on recipes and cooking together, and connected with generations of women in my family, honoring my beautiful, talented, loving grandmother Margalit. Her spinach croquettes were always a favorite for me. My mother has made them for me almost every single visit home since I left for college (a long time ago). Here you go:

WHAT YOU NEED
* 2-3 lbs fresh spinach
* 1 sm onion, finely chopped
* 1 egg
* a handful of fresh parsley, chopped (or 2T dry)
* 2T unflavored bread crumbs
* 1/2t salt
* 1/4t ground black pepper
* 2 cloves minced garlic
* 1/2t cumin

WHAT TO DO
Sautee the chopped onion in oil until golden. Set aside.

Wash the spinach drop for just 10 seconds into boiling water – just to wilt. Then drain and transfer to the food process for a rough chop.

In a bowl, mix all of the ingredients together.

Heat oil – not olive oil, but safflower, canola, or vegetable work well – over medium to medium-high heat. Form the mixture into small patties (about a tablespoon or two of mixture per croquette) and fry in the hot oil. Just 2 minutes or so per side. Remove from oil and dry on paper towels to absorb excess oil. Repeat until you’ve made as many croquettes as your mixture allows.

Serve hot or cold or any way you like. Pro Tip: as leftovers, they make a great veggie layer for sandwiches!

spinach_croquettes

Posted — and made — with so much love… always.

2 thoughts on “Spinach Croquettes

  1. I adore you and your posts! Thank you for this treat. I feel closest to my Grandmother when I cook her recipes. They are always with us. OOO

    Like

Leave a Reply

