Raspberry Ricotta Cake

raspricotta6
Late last winter I was getting ready to host some lovely lady-friends for and chit chat and stuff, and wanted a not-too-sweet-but-still-delicious (you know that perfect balance I’m talking about?) treat to serve with some coffee and fruit. But I am not the biggest baker, so I always get a little anxious about coming up with something pastry-like, and often end up buying something instead of making it. This time I wanted to do it myself for sure, so I scoured some go-to recipe resources, and found this one from Bon Apetit and immediately pinned it, knowing it was going to strike that exact balance I mentioned… You guys! It’s the PERFECT brunch cake. I promise you. It’s just the right amount of sweet, but not so fluffy-ooey-gooey-sweet. Light, airy sweet. And (you know where I’m going here, right?) just so easy, it’s ridiculous.

We recently made this little cake again, just because. Extra bonus – totally kid-friendly, both in eating and making. My little sous chef was on.her.game. I actually mixed up a step this time, so we ended up with a modified version – still perfect. Here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
* 1.5C flour
* 1C sugar
* 2t baking powder
* 3/4t Kosher salt
* 3 eggs
* 1.5C ricotta cheese
* 1/2t vanilla extract
* 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
* 1.5C frozen raspberries

WHAT TO DO
Preheat your oven to 350F and spray a 9″ round cake pan with nonstick spray.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and Kosher salt (an excellent job for your assistant, if you have one!).

raspricotta1
Next, in another, smaller bowl, whisk together the eggs, ricotta, and vanilla until smooth.

raspricotta3
Fold in the melted butter, followed by ¾ cup raspberries (This is the deviation from the original recipe; note: your batter will turn pink — this encouraged instead of deterred my sous chef! No difference in outcome baking/taste-wise.). Fold the wet ingredients into the dry until just blended, being careful in the folding so as not to break the berries up any more than you already have.

raspricotta4
Pour your batter into the prepared cake pan and scatter a handful of additional raspberries over the top.

raspricotta5
Bake one hour, or until a knife or toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cool before serving. And then dig right in – daintily, of course, because this is such a purrty little cake.

raspricotta7

(Again, here‘s that Bon Apetit original inspiration recipe, and here‘s where I pinned it on my Yummmmm: Sweet Treats board!)

Leave a Reply

