Cold Cucumber Soup

Continuing on my theme of eking out every last drop of summer as long as we’re able, tonight I have for you the most delicious, refreshing, delicate cold cucumber soup. I thought this would require a hard sell around our table, but it actually garnered some pretty high compliments, even from the toddler (who literally said, “you made a really yummy dinner, mommy” — !!) so what can I do but pass it on to you right away?coldcukesoup3

Once I got this idea into my head today, I couldn’t wait to get it made, so I apologize in advance, I just didn’t snap early photos as I was preparing everything, and before I knew it, the food processor was doing it’s thing and I was off and running. I’m relying on your knowledge of the very simple and basic ingredients that go into this delectable summer soup to help you visualize the early steps.

With that said… here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
* 2 larger Persian cucumbers, diced (or one medium-large “regular” cuke – peel if using non-Persian)
* 1/2C water
* 1C plain Greek yogurt
* 2 green onions, diced
* big bunch of fresh parsley, chopped (about 2T-worth)
* 1t Dijon mustard
* 2t minced garlic
* 1T dry dill
* 1T Greek seasoning
* 1t salt
* 1 large lemon, juiced

WHAT TO DO
Here’s where I really wish I had a pretty photo to share with you. The dry seasonings are basically the only part of this dish that aren’t super fresh. Just picture in your mind, if you will, how beautiful and bright all of those awesome fresh ingredients looked all prepped on the counter, ready for soup-ing.

Anyway, prepare all of your ingredients and put them all into the food processor. Blend to the consistency of your liking. I like a little texture in this, so I don’t blend it completely smooth, but if you prefer a really creamy, smooth soup, go ahead and keep on blending. A tip: if you do like your soup on the smoother side, be sure to really dice up your cucumbers small – they’ll break down and integrate much better that way.

coldcukesoup1coldcukesoup2
The combination of ingredients makes just the most beautiful minty color. And “fresh” is just the best way to describe the flavor. I apologize that I can’t be more creative or descriptive. It’s just. so. fresh. tasting.

Taste your soup and adjust seasonings if necessary. Then move to the fridge and chill for as long as possible, at least an hour, but ideally four or more. The flavor as well as the consistency will be enhanced the longer it chills, seriously.

Serve it cold. Garnish with just a drizzle of olive oil and a few super thin slices of fresh cucumber.

coldcukesoup4
No convincing necessary. This soup will cool you down and win you over, guaranteed. Even if you’re three years old. For reals.

Leave a Reply

