Crustless Sweet Corn and Multisquash “Pie”

cornsquashpie8I cannot recommend this recipe enough. Oh my YUM. We had this for our Meatless Monday dinner last night, but it would also be a delicious breakfast or brunch dish. You need to put this into your rotation. And before summer fades, don’t you just need to find every last opportunity to max out all the sweet summer eats? I don’t want to waste a single ear of sweet corn. I hope you’re with me on this.

My inspiration for the ultimate “pie” I put on the table last night was this recipe (which, and this will sound familiar, I actually pinned multiple times without realizing!) from Pinch of Yum (isn’t that the best blog name??). I was going to follow this recipe exactly, but then I had a realization, and I slightly changed a few things here and there to come up with mine. I really wanted the little to eat this with us, and mushrooms would likely not go over well, so I left those out. And then, as I was looking at zucchinis at the store, I remembered a deal my little sous chef and I had struck up over the weekend…

cornsquashpie1
So on our walk to the Farmer’s Market in our neighborhood Sunday, I suddenly had an idea to include her in the produce selection and get her excited about trying something new (vegetables?! gasp!) and cooking together during the week. I proposed it with all the enthusiasm in my mommy muscles, and it worked! She carefully considered each stand at the market and was finally convinced to approach one with two younger farm-vendors who were totally taken with her serious evaluation of their goods. They handed her all different kinds of interesting veggies, and she turned away dinosaur kale and radishes (“I already like those!”) and more, before finally getting her little mitts on some beautiful, bright yellow, flying saucer-shaped pattypan squash. NOTE: I did not know what this squash was called before this purchase. Lessons for everyone! She selected three squash and we were on our way.

Back in the kitchen the next day, I was getting all my ingredients out when I realized I had the perfect opportunity to put my plan into action! And it worked like a charm. My little buddy was very excited to get to try her selection so soon. And boy oh boy did it work out. On multiple fronts. So without further ado… here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
* 3-4T butter (yes, butter. there’s no crust! allow yourself some good ol’ butter!)
* 3/4 of a yellow onion, diced
* 2 ears sweet corn
* 1 medium zucchini, sliced thin (or two if you are using only zucchini)
* 2 large pattypan squash, halved, and then sliced thin
* 1T dry basil
* 1t dry oregano
* 1/2t salt
* 12oz shredded cheese of your choice (I used a combo of Swiss/Gruyere)
* 3 eggs, beaten
* shaved Parmesan for topping (optional)

WHAT TO DO
You guys. This is SO easy and fast and delicious. I could eat this all day long. Typing it up makes me want to eat it again right now. Anyway… where was I?

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.

In a large and deep saute pan over medium heat, melt the butter, and then add the onions, zucchini, and squash.
cornsquashpie2
While those guys are cooking and softening in the pan, carefully cut the corn off of the cob. Now, if you have a method for doing this that does not result in corn kernels on the floor/backsplash/walls/in the dog’s mouth, please advise. As soon as the cobs are clean, add the corn to the pan, mix it through, and saute about 10 minutes.

cornsquashpie3
Remove from heat, then mix in your seasonings: the basil, oregano, and salt. Stir and combine, then add the beaten eggs and the cheese and mix, allowing the cheese to begin to melt into the mixture.

cornsquashpie4cornsquashpie5
Spray a 9-in. (or larger) pie dish with non-stick spray (I never have parchment paper on-hand, but if you do, use that if you prefer, of course). Carefully spoon your now ooey-gooey mixture into the pie dish, spreading it out so that it smoothly and evenly fills the dish. Arrange some zucchini and squash slices on top, if you can, to make it pretty (I followed that tip from the original recipe and it pays, so I recommend you do the same). Top with a sprinkle of shaved Parmesan.

cornsquashpie6
Cover your pie dish with tin foil sprayed with non-stick spray, and bake for 20 minutes at 375F, then remove the foil and bake 5 more minutes. Let your “pie” rest for 5-10 minutes out of the oven before slicing and serving up. And then… dig in!

cornsquashpie7
As for my little experiment… I’m not jumping to any conclusions about the longevity of its success, but Round 1 is a win! She LOVED it, and even informed us that she actually really does like zucchini, she just sometimes pretends not to… Okay, madam. Whatever you say.

(Again, here‘s that original inspiration recipe, and here‘s where it’s saved on my Meatless Monday Pinterest board.)

Leave a Reply

