A Revelation, and a REALLY Good Burger Recipe

Of course this is another post about burgers. Actually, the recipe part will be brief. This is more about the revelation part. And the revelation I had was about the meat itself.

This weekend we bought our ground beef at the Farmer’s Market. For some weird reason, I’ve always been very intimidated by buying meat from the market. I think it has to do with the interaction with an expert, and my lack of real knowledge about the product. I definitely want to buy and prepare and consume quality meat, but I think there was something that made me feel like an imposter who would be found out if I talked to the meat guy directly. Is that as strange as it sounds, or does that make some modicum of sense?

It doesn’t matter, because in the end, I got over it, and I don’t think I can ever go back to a grocery store again! It’s just… SO much better! The same recipe will turn out great no matter where you buy your ground beef, I’m sure, but it’s going to be BETTER-great if you make sure to invest a little in the quality. Seriously.

So that’s my pitch for buying farm-fresh beef, since now, after a single purchase, I’m definitely an expert. But you came here for the burger recipe, so here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
makes ~ 5-6 average-size burgers
* 1lb QUALITY ground beef
* 1 egg
* 1/4C panko breadcrumbs
* 1t freshly ground black pepper
* 1-1 1/2t kosher salt
* 1/2t onion powder
* 1/4t garlic powder
* 2t dry BBQ rub/seasoning (I use Trader Joe’s “BBQ Rub & Seasoning with Coffee and Garlic (see here), but you can make your own blend or use your go-to, of course)

WHAT TO DO
Carefully mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl, using your fingers. The “carefully” part of this instruction is critical, because you don’t want to affect the tenderness of your burger by overworking the meat, especially since you took my advice and invested in high-quality ground beef.

Use just your hands/fingers to work the egg and seasonings through and be sure it’s all combined evenly into the meat. Then form your burgers by scooping equal amounts of the mixture into your hand, first into a ball, then flattening (but not actually making it flat!) it out into a patty.

You can prepare these ahead, and refrigerate the patties until you’re ready to grill, or get right to grilling if you’re eager to eat. When you are grill-ready, heat a clean grill. Cook about 5 minutes on the first side, then flip carefully and finish for about 2 minutes on the other.

Get all your preferred fixins ready ahead of time, too, so that when these babies come off the grill you can just get.to.burger-building.

farmfreshburger2
Seriously, I might drop all my other burger recipes and go to this one from now on. These were just that delicious. I wish I could transport a taste to you through the interwebs as evidence.

Then again… it might not be my recipe at all. It might just be my Farmer’s Market-fresh meat!

Leave a Reply

