Summer Sausage, Peppers, Onion, and Mango

IMG_6184
It’s not been an easy week for me. But I was determined to get the three of us around the table for a proper dinner together last night. Unfortunately, my day did not follow the plan in my head and I didn’t have time to get to the store for the ingredients I wanted. So when I got home, I looked at what I had and Top Cheffed it up to come up with this summer version of Sausage, Peppers, and Onions, and I must say, it’s worthy of a pat on the back. It came out goooood. Here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
* 1 large yellow and 1 large orange bell pepper, sliced thin
* (I had about 1/4 of a yellow onion left, so I sliced that up, but you don’t need it if you don’t have it)
* 6-9 large green onion stalks, greens only, chopped, plus extra, sliced thin, for garnish
* 1 large pre-cooked smoked sausage, sliced thin and on the bias
* ~4 cloves minced garlic
* 1-2 large mangoes, cut into large chunks
* optional, crushed red pepper flakes, to taste

WHAT TO DO
Heat a few glugs of olive oil over medium-high heat in a large pan. Slice your veggies and place all of them into the pan when the oil is hot.

IMG_6181
Slice your sausage, and add it to the pan.

IMG_6182
Mix these together, and, stirring occasionally, cook for about 3 minutes, allowing the vegetables to begin to soften. Then chop your mango and add it and the garlic to the pan. Make sure to cut large chunks of the fruit or it won’t hold up to the cooking.

IMG_6183
(If adding the red pepper flakes, I’d add those here, to taste. I didn’t add any while cooking, because I was cooking for a three-year-old as well as adults, but both my husband and I added some to our plates before we ate, and the contrast against the warm, sauteed fruit is perfect!)

Cook 5-10 minutes more, until the sausage browns and the vegetables are soft and browning.

Serve hot over rice, or in a hoagie bun (yum!). Garnish with thinly sliced fresh green onion. It’s an easy way to summerize an old classic, which in any season takes very little time to prepare and do well. No stress, no pressure, healthy, people pleasing dinner in a flash.

IMG_6186
Now that’s what I’m talking about!

Leave a Reply

