Quiche with Broccoli, Potato, and Chicken Sausage

brocpotsausquiche.10
So I’ve been making “my quiche” recipe for dinners, potlucks, and showers for several years now. And I get lots of compliments, particularly on my crust. So I’m a little nervous to reveal my secret, especially since it’s kind of ridiculous. Before I do, though, I will say, that like many other favorite recipes, the thing I love the best about this is how interchangeable and modifiable it is. This recipe is for *this* particular quiche that I made on *this* particular night. But with the basics, you can swap out the cheese for another variety, and the toppings for really anything that strikes your fancy. Consider this your template. And with that… here you go.

WHAT YOU NEEDbrocpotsausquiche.1
* 1 unbaked 9in pie crust (My secret! It’s just Trader Joes pie crust. Yep, that’s the secret.)
* 1/2C shredded cheddar cheese
* 1 sm potato, peeled, sliced thin
* 1 pre-cooked smoked sweet Italian chicken sausage
* broccoli florets
* 3 egg yolks and 2 egg whites
* 2T flour
* 2T lowfat milk
* salt and pepper, to taste
* dry thyme, to taste

WHAT TO DO
Preheat the oven to 350F. Prepare a pie dish and spray it with non-stick spray; set aside.

What I like about the Trader Joes pie crust is that it never rolls out smoothly, it always breaks apart into several pieces. So my trick is that i unwrap it (save the liners around the dough), ball it up, and then place the ball between the liners, and roll it out again with a rolling pin. Get a rustic round, and then place that into your pie dish.

brocpotsausquiche.2
My next trick is the edge of the crust. Do not make it perfect. The sale of a good semi-homemade crusted quiche is to make it look a little haphazard. Again, think rustic. Just fold and crimp around the edges to ensure you have a nice crust edge.

brocpotsausquiche.3
Now you’re ready to build your quiche. Layer in the cheese on the bottom, and then each topping in its own individual layer.

brocpotsausquiche.4brocpotsausquiche.5brocpotsausquiche.6brocpotsausquiche.7
In a small bowl, whisk together the egg yolks, egg whites, flour, and milk (try as best you can to get rid of as many of the lumps as you can – but some will remain, don’t fret, it’s okay), and pour the mixture over the cheese and toppings. You may want to poke the  layers gently to let some of the egg mixture distribute evenly throughout the quiche.

brocpotsausquiche.8
Sprinkle seasonings over the top, and bake in your preheated oven for 30-40 minutes, until the eggs are set and the top is golden.

brocpotsausquiche.9
I have found that this is a great way to bring some vegetables into my picky toddler’s diet. She loves each of the “template” components, so I just make sure to pile in some veggies any time I make this, and know she’ll at least try it because she knows she likes quiche. But it’s not your traditional kids’ meal, so it really works great for everyone. Again – so variable! My original favorite ingredients for this quiche are mushroom, onion, and swiss cheese. Simple spinach and cheddar is always great, too. Other good combos I’ve made with success: chorizo, red pepper, and monterey jack; spinach, garlic, sausage, and feta; and tomato, basil, mozzarella. But really, try any of your favorite flavor combinations, and I guarantee it’ll work out great. Goes without saying (I think) that leaving a meat component out makes this a delicious Meatless Monday option with almost endless permutations.

brocpotsausquiche.11
Serve with a simple (or fancy!) salad, and you’ve got a beautiful dinner ready in almost no time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

