Blackened Chicken with Lime Cous Cous and Avocado Cream

bkchxavolimeyog.5
I saved this recipe a long time ago (over a year ago according to Pinterest), and until I made it last week, I knew I’d like it. Now that I’ve made it — I LOVE IT. What took me so long?! What’s taking you so long?! Make it now! It’s so good! It’s got punch, it’s faster than fast, it’s freaking fantastic. Want it?

This is the recipe that caught my eye last year. As you can see, it looks good. I only made a few changes to suit my ingredients and timing, and, again, I still describe this as freaking fantastic. So here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
* 3 medium-sized boneless, skinless chicken breasts
* 1/2t paprika
* 1/4t each: salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, onion powder, cumin
* whole wheat cous cous
* juice of one lime, plus more to taste
* zest of one lime
* 1 ripe avocado
* 2-3T Greek yogurt

WHAT TO DO
Heat your grill. Yep, it’s a grill recipe. NOM.

Mix all of the seasonings in a small bowl. Lay out the chicken breasts in a dish, and cover both sides of each breast with the seasoning blend.

bkchxavolimeyog.1bkchxavolimeyog.2
Throw these bad boys onto the grill and cook through, a few minutes/side.

Meanwhile, prepare the cous cous according to package instructions. When it’s cooked and ready, but before you fluff it with a fork, zest the lime and squeeze the juice directly into the pot, then fluff.

Remove the cooked chicken from the grill and wait a few minutes, then slice cross-wise into strips.

bkchxavolimeyog.3
Serve the chicken over the cous cous. The seasoning is spicy – be ready! But that’s why you want to whip up this quick and delicious avocado cream to top it with.

Put the flesh of one whole ripe avocado, plus 2-3T Greek yogurt in a blender and puree. Squeeze in fresh lime juice to thin it out to your preferred consistency, and spoon over your chicken.

bkchxavolimeyog.4
ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! Just writing this up makes me want to make it again immediately. The spicing was definitely too strong for our toddler, but I just cut most of the blackened edges off and she ate everything else like a champ. This went from fridge to table in under 30 minutes, and was packed with flavor. I’m not sure what else you could ask for.

(Here‘s that original recipe again, and here‘s my pin.)

Leave a Reply

