Simple Dinner: The BEST Egg Sandwich

This recipe is more about construction than it is specific ingredients. But construction is critical to any completed plate, right? So go with it, please. I assure you no one will be disappointed in the lack of fancy recipe at the end of this post.

omeletesand7
I almost always make this for myself for dinner if I’m home alone in the evening and not cooking for anyone else. I think we were together for… 3 or 4 years before I ever made it for my now husband. I actually remember his exact reaction: “Why don’t you make this all the time??” I guess I never realized anyone else would be so excited about an egg sandwich as I am. This is actually my mom’s favorite and solo go-to; I just adopted it as my own, and now I’m pitching it to you as though no one ever made an egg sandwich before. Anyway, here you go.

WHAT YOU NEED
* eggs (2 for one person; 5 for two)
* salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and crushed red pepper, all to taste
* cheese of choice (this one was pepper jack)
* good quality, fresh, sliced bread (this was a sourdough)
* light mayo
* ripe avocado
* ripe tomato

WHAT TO DO
You can make your omelet however you usually like to, of course, but this is how I roll. Mix the eggs and all the seasonings thoroughly in a bowl. Heat a pan over medium-low heat (either spray it lightly with cooking spray, or add just a tiny bit of olive oil to barely cover the bottom).

omeletesand1
Pour the egg mixture into the pan and cover it. Keep the temperature on the pan low so that you can cook the egg evenly, but not overcook it. Flip it and cook just a minute or so on the other side.

omeletesand2
(actually, this is a little overcooked for my taste… oops!)

Cover one half of the omelet with cheese, and immediately fold the whole thing in half to cover it. Remove pan from heat. (Note: if you’re making one omelet for two people, cut it in half in the pan, so you can give each sandwich one healthy half-omelet.)

While your egg is cooking on side 1, pop your bread in the toaster. Prepare one half with a light schmear of mayo, and slice the avocado over the other half.omeletesand4
When your omelet is done, carefully place it on top of the avocado.

omeletesand5
Place two thick slices of tomato on top of the omelet, then sandwich it up.

omeletesand6
Sometimes the simplest is indeed the best. And there you have it. Hands-down the BEST egg sandwich you’ll find anywhere. Dare to out-egg-sandwich me? I’d love to go head to head! Actually, I just love an egg sandwich, so do, please, send me your favorite!

Leave a Reply

