Chicken Avocado Burgers

The other morning I realized I had some produce I had to use right away. I had brussels sprouts and mushrooms that needed to happen that day or be wasted. So I knew what my side was, but I didn’t have an actual dinner.

My top 3 favorite foods, in no particular order are: coffee ice cream, cookies (any), and burgers (also any). I seriously love burgers, especially as the weather warms up. In the summer I could probably eat burgers every day and never get tired of them. One of the reasons they’re so good is that there are so many ways to do burgers. Almost anything goes. Check that. ANYTHING goes. Burgers = the answer to my entree dilemma. I found this recipe on my Pinterest board, Yummmmm: Sandwiches (yes I sure do have a board dedicated entirely to sandwiches), and it just seemed like a good pairing with my plan to pan fry the brussels and ‘shrooms. I only made very minor adjustments to the original recipe, mostly to accommodate the smallest eater at my table (who loved these, by the way).

So this is another burger, and it’s a good one. Chicken avocado burgers topped with sauteed onions and fresh avocado. Just a few simple ingredients, and a few simple steps. Dinner in 20 minutes. Here you go.chixburg5

WHAT YOU NEED
* 1lb ground chicken
* 1 large ripe avocado, cut into small chunks
* 1-2t minced garlic
* 1/3C breadcrumbs
* 1/2t salt
* 1/4t pepper
* olive oil

WHAT TO DO
Are you ready for this? Don’t blink – you’ll miss it. Step 1: Mix all the ingredients together. Step 2: Form into patties and pan fry/grill/whatever you choose to do to cook your burgers. Serve. Yep.

Here’s the slower version: Prep the ingredients, then mix them all together by hand in a medium-sized bowl.

chixburg1
Ball up the mixture in the middle of the bowl, then divide it in half with your hand, and then divide each half in half, to get four basically even-sized burgers to facilitate one-stop shopping on the cook timing. (If you’re grilling, move on to the grill… I cooked mine on the stovetop, so follow along if that’s your plan as well.) Heat a bit of olive oil in the frying pan over medium heat, and place the burgers into the pan.

chixburg2
These are pretty thick burgers, but they are made with chicken, which doesn’t take as long to cook and dries easily. So cook them for just a few minutes on one side, then flip them and repeat that twice more, just to make sure to get a little crust on the outside and get them cooked through on the inside.

chixburg3
To serve, cut another avocado into thin slices, and sauteed some thinly-sliced onion in a tiny bit of olive oil. Serve on thick buns (mine were whole wheat).

chixburg4
You know what else would be good on this burger? ANYTHING.

Enjoy!
(Again, that recipe originated here, and here‘s my pin.)

Leave a Reply

