Truly Delectable Vegetable Curry

vegcurry4
I seriously cannot get over how scrumptious this dinner was. I made it last night and I cannot stop reliving the flavors. I might need to make it again, like, immediately. I wanted to lick the hot pot in which I cooked it, it was that yummy. AAAAAND. My little buddy devoured it. You know that thing when kids get candy or ice cream and they go so crazy they eat almost frantically? That is what happened — WITH CURRY! Don’t you want to make this right-stat-now?! Here you go:

WHAT YOU NEED
* 13.5oz can coconut milk
* 15oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
* 2T and 1t red curry paste
* 1T tomato paste
* about 1T brown sugar
* 1/4 lemon, squeezed (or more)
* 1/4t chili powder
* 1T dried basil
* 1 bunch spinach (I used about 1/3 of a bag of baby spinach)
* 4 green onions, chopped
* 8oz package sliced mushrooms (or about 2C)
* salt + pepper, to taste

WHAT TO DO
This recipe requires very little work for lots of glory. The only real prep you need to do is to slice your green onions (and mushrooms, if you don’t have pre-sliced ones already), and to get out some measuring spoons. Pretty perfect for a busy weeknight. Especially a chilly one like we had last night. I had pinned this recipe a while ago, and when I was thinking about a Meatless Monday idea and scanning my pins, it just called to me. Now I understand why. An obvious deviation: I did not serve with quinoa–that’s because I didn’t have any on-hand, but knew I had plenty of rice at home, so I went with rice. Cous cous would also be pretty delightful with this curry. Also worth noting, this is a vegetarian meal, but it is TOTALLY amenable to modification. I could easily see adding chicken or shrimp, which would be awesome. Onwards…

Start by heating the coconut milk in a large pan until it boils, then lower the heat and let it simmer. Add the next 7 ingredients (chickpeas, red curry paste, tomato paste, brown sugar, lemon juice, chili powder, basil), and mix it all together.

vegcurry1vegcurry2
Literally the moment I took that spoon and started stirring, everything started to smell INCREDIBLE. Insta-curry smell. Warm, rich (without being rich!), cozy, NOM.

Next, add the spinach, chopped green onions, and sliced mushrooms.

vegcurry3
Bring the heat back up and let it come back to a boil, then, again, lower the heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes, letting the mushrooms cook and the spinach completely wilt down, stirring occasionally.

Here is where the original recipe says to add salt and pepper to taste. Now, I tasted as I cooked (I am telling you, I could not resist the fragrance!), and did not think I’d need any additional seasoning. But when I got to this point and tasted again, it definitely could use a little salt. I used just a pinch. I did not add any pepper. And it was utterly perfect.

vegcurry5
I just wish there were more words for how good this was. Exquisite? Heavenly? Freaking Amazing? Even the thesaurus lets me down here. Don’t even trust me. Just go make it and see for yourself. And then tell me what word to use.

Enjoy!

(Again, here’s that original recipe, and here is the pin on my board, Yummmmm: Meatless Monday.)

One thought on “Truly Delectable Vegetable Curry

Leave a Reply

