A Quickie: Pickled Shallots

It’s been a L-O-N-G day for me… I got up at 5 and kind of went non-stop until just this moment. I didn’t have time to pick up the few ingredients I needed for the dinner I had planned, so it was a fend-for-yourself-leftovers dinner instead. It happens. So editing photos and writing a long recipe post is not high on my priority list tonight, sorry. STILL!Β  I have a good quick one for you. If you follow me on Instagram you might have seen a promise of a quick pickled shallots recipe the other night. I loooooove these. For some reason, I only remember to make them when the weather warms up, which is odd, because they are awesome. They add a great flavor, bite, and a bit-o-fancy to your salads, and last for a good while in the fridge, so make a batch and dress up salads every night! Here you go…

IMG_4950
WHAT YOU NEED
* 1 large or 2 small-medium shallots (also works well with a regular red onion)
* Kosher salt – 1.5t + extra
* ~1/2C apple cider vinegar
* 1T granulated sugar

WHAT TO DO
Prepare a small glass container with a lid that seals tightly and then slice your shallots super thin – the thinner the better, in my opinion.

IMG_4945IMG_4946
Now, this step is key – I swear this is the secret trick. Separate your sliced onions into rings and place into that glass container. Sprinkle with Kosher salt and place to the side for a few moments, while you prepare the vinegar mixture. What this does is start to break down the onion and soften it. I am by no means anywhere near any kind of scientist, much less a food scientist (English major for a reason!), but I know this is an important key to the magic. I have forgotten this step before and have definitely noticed a difference. It really opens the onions up to absorb the vinegar and pickle quickly.

Anyway, while that’s happening on the side, get a medium sized bowl (glass is best if you have it) and whisk together the cider vinegar with 1.5t Kosher salt and the sugar. Once the sugar and salt are completely dissolved, pour the mixture over the sliced shallots.

IMG_4948
(I don’t know why I didn’t notice what a terrible photo this was until now… sorry! I’ll make these again and replace it with a sharper image asap!)

Cover tightly and let it sit (at room temperature is fine, but you can also refrigerate it) for an hour. Voila! Pickled shallots!

Note: these will keep for about 2 weeks if you keep them covered and chilled. If you do that, just be sure to drain them before using them the longer you wait.

Now don’t you feel like you know a fancy chef trick? I certainly do. I love pairing these with salads with fruit in them. I love the combination of the sharp pickled onion with a sweet, luscious blueberry or ripe mango bite. Try it! And let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

