Arroz con Pollo

arrozpollo5
It’s another one-pot masterpiece, folks. N-O-M.

The other night, I was feeling some self-imposed pressure because, for the first time in a while, I had NO idea what I’d make for dinner this week, and I didn’t want to disappoint anyone (I don’t even know if anyone is reading along, but my imagined audience has very high expectations of me — my imagined audience is a large audience of just me several times over). So I asked El Señor what he wanted this week (something, oddly, that I realize I rarely do – ask his input!) and he didn’t miss a beat before answering “Latin.” That was all he offered. So I thought for a second or two, and considering all the eaters in this household, the first thing that popped into my head was arroz con pollo — chicken with rice. Very traditional, very basic, very comforting (if it’s good), but also healthy! I poked around on Pinterest and pinned a few different versions, and then, after reading through all of them, put together my own plan based on what I knew I had on hand already, and what would work timing and flavor wise for our family. The result, I must say, was For Serious. So here you go…

WHAT YOU NEED
* Olive oil
* 1.5-2lbs chicken (I used 2 large boneless, skinless breasts) cut into small chunks
* 2C uncooked rice
* 2C low sodium chicken broth
* 1 8oz can tomato sauce
* 2t (heaping) minced garlic
* a few scoops of pico de gallo (if you have it; otherwise you could use another small can of diced tomatoes)
* 1t chili powder
* 1t turmeric
* 1t salt
* 1/2t pepper
* 1/2 package frozen peas

WHAT TO DO
Not only is this bad boy a one-pot glory, but it’s also essentially 3 simple steps – beauty!

Start by heating some olive oil in a stock pot over medium heat. Add the chicken chunks and cook until they are just starting to brown, but not cooked through. Add the uncooked rice, stir a bit, and then sauté about a minute.

arrozpollo2
Next, add the chicken broth, tomato sauce, pico, garlic, chili powder, turmeric, salt, pepper, and frozen peas (put them in frozen).

arrozpollo3arrozpollo4
Bring to a boil, then reduce heat, cover, and simmer until liquid is absorbed (~25 min-ish). If after about 25 minutes your liquid hasn’t fully reduced, leave on low heat, but cook a bit longer uncovered, watching for the liquid to absorb and then immediately removing from the heat.

Como se dice “high-five” en Español? Because this was a high-fiving-myself success. All three of us loved it, with the munchkin humming while she ate then proudly proclaiming that she’d eaten everything! The simplicity of this meal is kind of astounding, as the flavors are really powerful and bold, and one bowl-ful is completely satisfying. Latin? Nailed it. What else do you want?

arrozpollo6

One thought on “Arroz con Pollo

Leave a Reply

