Fancy on a Friday: Ina’s Mustard-Roasted Fish

inamustardfish7
Don’t let this post title fool you. This is for sure fancy – but it’s one of the easiest and fastest complete meals I’ve ever pulled together.

Like the nerd that I am, I follow Ina Garten on Facebook and Instagram. This week, she did a feature on her favorite quick weeknight meals, highlighting one recipe per day. A few days ago, her mustard-roasted fish recipe popped up in my news feed, and I immediately wanted to try it out, in part because the description lead me to believe dinner would be on the table in 20 minutes or less. This I had to see for myself. Bonus points for this one came when I mentioned it to my dear friend Erin, who has made this recipe before and couldn’t stop raving. Duh. So my Friday night dinner was planned. And here it is:

WHAT YOU NEED
for 4 servings
* 4 ~8oz fish fillets such as red snapper
* Kosher salt
* black pepper
* 8oz crème fraîche
* 3T Dijon mustard
* 1t whole-grain mustard
* 2T minced shallots
* 2t drained capers

WHAT TO DO
Full disclosure: I could not get my hands on red snapper today for the life of me. When I hit my 4th store, I decided to try something “such as” snapper, per Ina’s directions. I thought haddock might be a good substitute, but they didn’t have haddock either. So I asked the fish guy and he said to use cod. The fish was good, but I think cod is a bit too… steak-ey for this recipe. If you can’t get snapper, I’d try another more delicate option like tilapia or haddock instead. Cod works just fine – this was quite good – but next time I’ll use a different fish.inamustardfish1

All that aside, here’s how it goes. Preheat your oven to 475F, and prepare a baking dish, into which you should place your fish. If there’s skin on your fish, place it skin-side down in the dish. Season generously with salt and pepper. Another word of caution: Ina’s directions say to be “generous” with the s+p. I’d err on the side of less generous. Kosher salt is pretty powerful as salt goes. And you definitely notice it in a recipe. Mine wasn’t all salt, but I think I’ll tone it down next time around. Anywhos… Set the baking dish to the side.

Next, in a small bowl, add the crème fraîche, mustards, shallots and capers. Season with about a teaspoon of salt and a half-teaspoon of pepper. Mix thoroughly.

Carefully pour your sauce over the fish, making sure to completely cover each piece.

inamustardfish4
Place your dish into the preheated oven, and leave it there for 10-15 minutes at most, depending on the thickness of your fish. Yep. That’s the whole story. Ina doesn’t lie. Dinner was on the table in about 20 minutes total. While the fish cooked, I prepared a light salad of spinach/arugula mix, cucumber, grape tomatoes, sunflower seeds, and dried cranberries, and sliced fresh bread (roasted garlic loaf – um, yes, please!). The table was set and ready by the time this bad boy came out of the oven 15 minutes later. Rich, but not too heavy, beautiful, and really very tasty. You’d never guess this was such a quickly-prepared plate if you didn’t know, I swear it.

inamustardfish5
Not too shabby for a Friday night, eh? And guess what – my little foodie ate it, too! Wahoo! I’m going to throw a little more alliteration at you: Fancy Friday Fish For the whole Family! Can’t beat it.

inamustardfish6
So what are you up to this weekend? Have a good one!

(p.s., here‘s that recipe from Ina again.)
2 thoughts on “Fancy on a Friday: Ina’s Mustard-Roasted Fish

Leave a Reply

