Balsamic Brussels Sprout, Sweet Potato, and Carrot Hash (+ Bacon!)

It’s a side dish kind of a night, folks. I seriously love a good hash. I like it for breakfast, I like it for brunch, etc. etc. Seriously, though. Hash makes a great dinner. And you can put whatever you have on hand in it and it will almost always turn out delightful and delicious! Yay, hash!

I had seen a recipe for a sweet potato and Brussels sprouts hash floating around and decided to make up my own since I had both in my crisper. I served this lovely hash with a big pile of fluffy scrambled eggs that satisfied all age groups around our table. But scrambled eggs aren’t particularly exciting, so I give you the hash!

WHAT YOU NEED
* 1 large sweet potato, peeled and chopped into small cubes
* 3 large carrots, peeled and chopped small
* ~1lb fresh Brussels sprouts, ends cut and halved
* 3 strips of thick cut bacon (or more because, why not?)
* balsamic vinegar
* olive oil
* salt and pepper, to taste (I used lemon pepper and pink salt!)

WHAT TO DO
I really just made this up as I went, which is kind of the great thing about hash. I think the official Oxford English Dictionary definition of “hash” is something along the lines of “whatever you want/have in a pan all together, cooked to perfection, served in a big pile.” Don’t quote me on that, though. Essentially, it’s the mutt of the kitchen! There could be anything in it, and it comes out basically perfect. (Dog analogy FTW! I’m really on a roll tonight…)

Start by chopping your sweet potato, carrots, and sprouts, and set them aside. Heat a large saute pan over medium-high heat and cook your bacon until crispy. Pull it out of the pan and place strips on a paper towel to absorb the excess grease. LEAVE THE FAT/GREASE IN THE PAN (you’re with me now, aren’t you?). The rest is a piece of cake, er–a pile of hash?

Put all your veggies into the pan and reduce heat to medium. Drizzle with a bit of olive oil, and a bit and a half (eyeball those bits) of balsamic and let everything cook together, stirring occasionally.

bspchash1
After about 5-10 minutes, season with salt and pepper, to taste, and stir through. Continue cooking another 5-10 minutes, until you get a nice char on some of the veggies and everything has softened but is not mushy. Remove pan from heat.

Rough chop the bacon into bits and sprinkle over the hash, then mix through and serve.

Could this be anything but delectable, I ask you? The answer is no it could not. I could eat the whole pan myself. I didn’t, because that’s not okay (right?), but I could!

bspchash2Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

