Grilled Greek Chicken with Greek Salad

Opa!

GreekChicken6
You guys. This was a good one. I have been meaning to try this recipe for a while, and after a very specific craving for Greek salad was not satisfied the night before, I decided I just had to make one, and that presented the perfect opportunity to give it a go.

But first: apologies for the brief hiatus. The events in my life last week just took me away from my routine in a way I wasn’t expecting. But that happens. This blog is about my real life–it’s about food, duh, but it’s also about my real life. So a few days off might happen here and there, but here we are, and there you go. Onward.

I mostly followed the recipe as it was written in the original post, but a few little twists of my own here and there, as usual, got me to the end result. So here YOU go:

WHAT YOU NEED
* 4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

And then for the Marinade
* 1/2C olive oil
* 1/3C fresh-squeezed lemon juice (I used about 2 large, very juicy lemons, and squeezed all the juice out of them; could have used more)
* 1t fresh lemon zest (given that I forgot to buy more lemons than I had at home, I zested a whole lemon into my marinade – go for it)
* 1t Greek seasoning
* 1t poultry seasoning
* 1t dried oregano
* black pepper, to taste (I used lemon pepper – more lemon!)

And the Salad
* lettuce (a Greek salad often uses iceburg, but I used Romaine)
* tomatoes (I used plum), chopped into chunks
* cucumber, halved and sliced
* yellow pepper, sliced in strips
* feta cheese, crumbled or cut into chunks
* kalamata olives, chopped
* olive oil (and lemon if you have it) – for the dressing

WHAT TO DOGreekChicken2
Assemble your salad, but don’t dress it until you’re ready to serve.

Trim your chicken and cut small slits into each breast. These allow the marinade to penetrate into the meat and also help the chicken cook through GreekChicken1without burning. Place them in a big bowl or dish and then prepare your marinade…

Combine all of those ingredients and whisk them together nicely. Then pour the whole lot of it over the chicken and place into the refrigerator to marinate for as long as you can. I wish I’d marinaded mine longer than I did. Seriously – whip this up in the morning, and leave it in the fridge all day. Just a little over an hour for mine was delicious, but it was obvious how the longer it sat the better and better it would get. I guess that’s essentially the whole deal with marinades, but still – this one is delicious. Let it sit in there as long as humanly possible.

GreekChicken3
Once you’re ready to grill, pull the chicken out of the fridge. Now, you can obviously cook your chicken on an outdoor grill. In my case, there is only one grill master in this house, and he wasn’t home. So I used the stove top grill and it worked great. So pick your poison. Heat your grill to a medium-high heat and if you’re using an indoor grill, make sure to spray your surface so your chicken doesn’t stick.

GreekChicken4
When it’s nice and hot, place your chicken on the grill and cook until browned, about 20 minutes. Flip once or twice.

GreekChicken5
When it’s done, pour some olive oil, and lemon if you have it, over your salad. Serve immediately. Craving: satisfied.

GreekChicken7

(Again, find the original post here, and the pin of it here.)

Leave a Reply

