Crustless Quiche with Spinach, Mushrooms, and Feta

crustlessquiche7I love quiche. I love it for breakfast, and I love it for lunch, and I love it for dinner. It’s a perfect plate of goods – and you can essentially put ANYTHING in a quiche and it’ll work… What beats that?

I’ve been meaning to post this recipe for a little while now – I made this a few weeks ago already. I like the idea of Meatless Monday as a recovery/refresher from weekend eating, but it’s not always an easy sell in my house. So I tend to hesitate just a little when I plan an all-meatless meal. But I was curious about this recipe I had pinned and whether it would work – crustless quiche? Is that a joke? I just had to try it for myself and see. I prepared for the hard sell, but guess what – it sold itself! The critic even suggested the crust is the least necessary part of quiche anyway! Not sure I agree, but we’ll leave that argument for another day. This was a winner, so it’s neither here nor there for now. Voila…

WHAT YOU NEED
*
8oz mushrooms, sliced
* 1/2t minced garlic
* non-stick cooking spray
* 1 10oz box frozen spinach, thawed
* 4 large eggs
* 1C milk
* 2oz feta cheese, crumbled
* 1/4C grated Parmesan cheese
* 1/2C shredded mozzarella cheese
* salt + pepper, to taste

WHAT TO DO
Preheat the oven to 350F.

If you didn’t have the chance to let it thaw, pop the spinach in the microwave and let it drain in a colander in the sink while you prep your other stuff. I also like to press paper towel into it to make sure I pull off as much liquid as possible before cooking/baking with frozen spinach.crustlessquiche2

Slice your mushrooms (if you didn’t buy sliced, obviously) and drop them into a skillet with non-stick spray. Add the garlic and some salt and pepper to taste, heat to medium/medium-high, and saute for about 5ish minutes.

Spray a pie dish with non-stick spray and spread your spinach into it.

crustlessquiche1
Top the spinach with the cooked mushrooms and crumbled feta.

crustlessquiche4
Whisk the eggs in a medium bowl, then add to them the milk, Parmesan cheese, and just a little pepper and whisk again. Pour over the spinach, mushrooms, and feta to fill the pie dish.

crustlessquiche5
I usually like to poke the filling a bit with a fork to allow the egg/milk mixture to really get all the way through:

crustlessquiche6
You’re almost there. Sprinkle the mozzarella cheese generously over the top of your quiche to cover. You can sprinkle that with a little more pepper if you like (I do), and then put the pie dish on a baking sheet (this is critical, because when you put it in the over, it is filled to the brim with liquid, and this will facilitate easy transfer and a clean kitchen floor if you’re anything like me in the Clumsy Department), and place in the oven. Bake about 45 minutes to an hour, depending on your oven. Check it early and then keep baking until ready. You want it to be a beautiful golden brown on top and solid throughout the filling. Like so:
crustlessquiche7
This could not be any easier. It’s a great, filling meal (I served with salad, as usual) for a busy weeknight dinner, but also a delicious brunch or weekend breakfast treat. The mushrooms and spinach work perfectly with the salty feta, but you could easily swap them out for other combos or add something else (crumbled sausage would be yummo!). And I swear you won’t miss the crust!

Enjoy!

(Here‘s the original recipe from Budget Bytes, and here, again, is where I have it pinned for easy access on my Pinterest board, Yummmmm: Meatless Monday.)

One thought on “Crustless Quiche with Spinach, Mushrooms, and Feta

  1. Pingback: KITCHEN

Leave a Reply

