BLT Fried Egg-and-Cheese Sandwich

Let’s get one thing straight: this is THE sandwich. Seriously. THE sandwich. See:

BestBLT9Right?! Now let me walk you through it. (This one needs no long-winded intro story, obviously. Let’s get right to it.)

WHAT YOU NEED (for 2 sandwiches)BestBLT2
* 4 slices of thick-cut bacon
* 2 thick slices of Monterey Jack cheese
* 2 thick slices of rustic bread, toasted
* mayonnaise
* 4 thick slices of tomato
* 2 leaves of butter lettuce
* 2 large eggs
* 1/2 a ripe avocado (my addition to the original recipe)

WHAT TO DO
The original recipe by Thomas Keller was posted on Food & Wine’s website quite a few years ago. I’ve just barely modified it (I don’t cook my egg in butter, I bake my bacon, and I added avocado), but I promise you, nothing about this, whether you do it his way, mine, or your own, will ever disappoint you. As I said, this is THE sandwich (I’ll probably say this at least one more time before the end of this post).

Anyway, that’s all the spiel you’ll get on it, so here you go:

Preheat the oven to 300F and prepare a baking sheet, laying out the bacon (2 slices/sandwich) so it’s ready as soon as the oven hits temp. While it’s heating up, get everything else ready: get out the mayo, slice your avocado, tomatoes, and cheese, tear off your lettuce leaves, get your frying pan on the stove and eggs lined up at the ready. Slice your bread and put it in the toaster, but don’t toast just yet. Timing is everything. This whole plate is a masterpiece of precise timing and specific construction.

BestBLT1
When the oven is hot, put the bacon in and cook it to your desired crisp/tenderness. **I bake for this recipe because I prefer how it comes out for the particulars of this sandwich. I also fry bacon, but I think it works better for the sandwich baked. Feel free to fry to your heart’s content. If you go my way, after about 6-7 minutes, flip the bacon and give it a few extra minutes on the other side.

Right before pulling the bacon out of the oven, start the toaster so your bread is ready when the bacon is. Then start building…BestBLT4

Pull the “bottom” of your sandwich from the toaster first, and spread with a light layer of mayo, then top with a leaf of lettuce and two slices of tomato.

Next, transfer the bacon to some paper towel and pat dry to remove any excess grease. Once you’re satisfied, layer two strips of bacon on top of your tomato slices.BestBLT5

**At this point you should heat your frying pan for the egg.**

Remove your sandwich “top” from the toaster and prepare it with slices of avocado (about 1/4 of an avocado, sliced, per sandwich).

BestBLT7Crack an egg directly into the frying pan. Keep the frying pan on low heat. You want to fry your egg, but keep the yolk really runny – it’s the best part of this sandwich! When I found this tiny frying pan that’s essentially the size of one fried egg, it totally improved THE sandwich. It’s perfect now – every time.
When the white is *just* set, carefully slide the egg onto the tomato slices on your sandwich. How amazing does this look?

BestBLT6
Finally, add your slices of cheese directly on top of your egg, and carefully–but quickly!–flip your avocado-topped bread on top of it. Voila! THE sandwich. (I guess I said it two more times.)

BestBLT8 Getting “thick” slices of every ingredient is really the key to the magic that capitalizes the “THE” here. Each layer has its own identity, and is distinctive, but still complementary to the whole. I mean, a BLT is obviously a successful sandwich for a reason. But this. With the cheese and the thick yummy bread and the fried egg?! It’s just absolutely perfect.

Please let me know if you try it and what you think. Now I’ll leave you to wipe up your drool and make your grocery list.

Enjoy!

Complements to Mr. Keller on this incredible perfection of a sandwich. Here‘s his recipe over on Food & Wine.

Leave a Reply

