Simple Stuffed Peppers

I’m going to get fancy on you soon, I promise! This dish is so easy, I’m almost embarrassed to put it out there, but the reality is that I often have to look for easy (or quick!) first – and as I always say, easy doesn’t have to mean bad for you or processed. These stuffed peppers are brimming with Good-for-you and Yummy, so the fact that they’re the easiest thing in the entire world to make is just a bonus.

simplestuffedpep6Stuffed peppers might be an odd thing to crave, but on this night, I just knew I wanted stuffed peppers. I also wanted to keep it vegetarian, but still hearty and filling, to pack a taste-punch, and to make one single dinner that all of my family could and would eat together. I have a few stuffed pepper recipes I’ve played with before, but I decided to look for something new. I was also tight on time, so “easy” and “fast” were definitely keywords in my search! I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com, and missed the fact that it was a 100% microwave-prepared dinner when I scanned it and decided it ticked all the boxes. So I picked up all the ingredients, and didn’t modify a single thing. It is DELICIOUS. So here you go: Simple Stuffed Peppers that Couldn’t be Faster or Easier to get from Market to Table!

WHAT YOU NEED
* 2 lg bell peppers, halved and seeded (you can use any color, but I like to use red or orange, because a) they’re purty; b) green can get bitter; and c) yellow can get pale)
* 1 8oz can stewed tomatoes, including liquid
* 1/3C quick-cooking brown rice (I keep both brown and white Minute Rice on hand)
* 2T hot water
* 2 green onions, sliced thinly
* 1/2C frozen corn kernels, thawed and drained (I used sweet white corn because I had it in the freezer already)
* 1/2 of a 15-oz can of kidney beans, drained and rinsed
* 1/4t crushed red pepper flakes (or more or less, to taste)
* 1/2C shredded mozzarella cheese
* 1T grated Parmesan cheese

WHAT TO DO
Please don’t judge the microwave. I used to be a microwave judger. In fact, we didn’t even own one for about 4 years!  Just trust me on this one – these come out perfectly tender, perfectly balanced, and chock full of taste, not to mention healthy goodness.

Prepare a square glass baking dish. Cut your peppers in half and seed them. Then place them into the baking dish open side up, and cover the dish with plastic wrap. Using a fork or the top of a knife, poke just a few vent holes in the plastic wrap, and then heat for approximately 4 minutes in the microwave, until tender.

simplestuffedpep1I like to try to get all my ingredients out and ready when I’m cooking a new recipe. I also put everything away as soon as I’ve used it. I’m a little neurotic like that, but a clean prep/cooking area and organized kitchen really facilitates timeliness when making food, which is one of the hardest things to master, I think (getting all the components timed right). More on my mise en place ways in a future post. But here’s an example of how I generally like to roll:
simplestuffedpep2
Anyway, while the peppers are in the microwave, mix the tomatoes and their liquid, the rice, and the hot water in a bowl. Again, cover the bowl with plastic, and once your ‘wave is free, cook the mixture for another 4 minutes, until rice is cooked.

simplestuffedpep3
When the tomato mixture comes out, stir in the green onions, the corn, the kidney beans, and the red pepper flakes and return it to the microwave for 3 minutes, until heated through.

simplestuffedpep4
(mmmmm…)


Now, go back to your peppers. Spoon the tomato mixture evenly into each of the pepper halves, and then recover with plastic wrap, again, stabbing some holes in the plastic to vent the steam. Go back to the microwave for 4 more minutes. Here’s where it all comes together (seriously, have you EVER made anything so easy??)

Remove the plastic and sprinkle your stuffed pepper-goodness with both cheeses.

Honestly, that’s it. I promise you it’s delicious, and doesn’t even remotely look/feel/taste/smell/other sense of microwave-only. I’m still embarrassed, but also proud. It’s darn good. Have a tight schedule one night coming up? No sweat. Dinner for the whole family is still served!

Bon apetit! (or as the little nugget says, “Bone Up To Eat!”)

simplestuffedpep5

(Here is the original recipe on Allrecipes.com; here‘s where I pinned it on my Pinterest board, “Yummmmm: Meatless Monday.”)

2 thoughts on “Simple Stuffed Peppers

  1. a #samebrain comment for you. That cod recipe I sent you also uses the microwave and Nate & I were SO SNOTTY about it. “The MICROWAVE? REALLY?!” turned out awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

